Welcome Sign

Welcome sign for the front entry way. It was so blah out front I wanted to add a pop of color to brighten up the front entry and welcome our friends and family. Starting with a 24-inch by 6-inch piece of wood from the pallet we disassembled for the previous pallet sign project. I used acrylic paint, vinyl letters made with my Cricut, and clear sealer to compete this project. 
time
 
First I painted a base coat of white. Then using Cricut Design Space I designed the Welcome saying for the sign and cut out on vinyl.
 
After weeding out the negative vinyl, I used transfer tape to transfer the lettering onto the wood.
The edges of the vinyl were sealed with matte Mod Podge to prevent the pain from bleeding under the edges of the vinyl.
Using blue acrylic paint and a foam brush to pain, I ended up doing 2-3 coats.
After allowing the paint to dry slightly, I carefully removed the vinyl letters to reveal the white underneath.
 
The sign is going to be outside in the elements so the wood needed to be sealed. I used several coats of Krylon clear sealer making sure I adequately covered the front, sides, and back of the sign.
 

Last step was to add the brackets on the back so we could hang the sign.

Finished project hung in our front entry to welcome all the visitors to our home.
 

Until next time!

❤️ Margaret

Leave a comment